Short Story Preview: Interface

The following is the introduction to a short story I’m working on currently. I will use the short story in a sci fi writing context: http://www.williamledbetter.com/contest.htm

The events of the short story are also happening in the universe of the fallen angel series, somewhere between the events of the first trilogy or The angel’s arc and the regression arc. I will post a detailed record of all the canonic arcs soon in order to make it easier to understand the whole concept and this blog’s chapters and posts.

For now here is the first part of the short story: Interface. I will maybe post the rest as well; until then, enjoy!

 

 

It is quite interesting to consider how things can change in a way we can’t expect it. During my whole life, I have been inconsiderate toward the factor of change and I have been its tool. My life was quite simple in the time and still, I wasn’t able to enjoy those moments. I’m a first generation American from a Moroccan father and a British mother; I’ve spent a clear part of my life moving from my native country and the countries of my origin, but all those travels weren’t more to me than a total pain. I never really enjoyed the road; I don’t like the feeling of wait during the long journeys. It’s ironic how some things never change, even now after all what happened, I still hate travels, or at least, the journeys. I had a quite normal childhood, my father was an electric engineer and my mother was a financial jurist. I still wonder what made them live with one another; I never really felt that they had that much in common; however, they never fought, not even once. I would not lie and say that everything was perfect in my life, far from that. When I was in high school I passed through a severe depression, I was into drugs, all kind of drugs, any drugs. And at the time, they were popping out of nowhere. The situation didn’t stay that way, having an authoritarian Moroccan father with the cold logic of engineering and a fearsome layer mother didn’t help my case. They sent me to a military college where I end up hooked to robotics. And I was skilled, so skilled that I end up working for the government before even being graduated. At 25 years old, I’ve been chosen to develop one of the major futuristic technologies, which was still under the seal of secret: The interface. We were six original team members on the project, and we were also the first ones to ever use this technology. The interface was the concrete application of a quite simple idea: what if we stopped using any kind of hardware and we used the human brain as a physical body for our virtual actions. The project was under research for decades before being forgotten in the archives, it’s only when the technology was advanced enough that a team was actually created. Lucky me, I was chosen, and I worked my heart of on the project. I designed the small hardware robots; a really small robots that was able to move autonomously and to drill their way through the tympanic membrane and all the way to the cerebral cortex. The project was a huge success; with the interface, no peace of hardware was necessary: our brains were becoming our computers. The interface was able of greatly enhancing the capacities of human memory and much more other aspects of the human mind. We even created an artificial intelligence program that was interacting directly with the interface holders. The program was called FA61524 and was designed according to the designs of one of the team member: Alphonse, a tall and strong guy with ginger hair and rare social interactions. He was the one to do most of the work on FA61524 and according to him; its personality was inspired by a great figure of the old times. History and legends weren’t really on the list of my preoccupations so I didn’t ask anything else. I still feel nostalgic to the interface, having it completely changed my vision of things. The interface was never made public though, but was only linked to an even bigger project. While we were working on the interface, many countries were cooperating to build the biggest starship ever made; the construction took fifteen years, but the result was worth it. The starship that was called Arc was as big as the island of Manhattan and was able to transport and sustain 500 000 humans in space for a virtually infinite time. The world government were wishing to spread the human race on some possible other habitable planet. The interface holders, our original team of six including me, Alphonse, Yuki a Japanese software developer, Joshua a German Neurosurgeon, Ashley a Canadian Psychologist, and Dayita an Indian biotech engineer were chosen to equip the spaceship members with interface and to rectify anything that would went wrong on board. And so we all joined the travel; once again, I was on a journey, but this time, it was a lifetime one.

 

Leave a Reply

